Happy New Year!

New Year

Dear readers, this is just a short New Year’s greeting to wish you a happy and healthy 2015. The days are getting longer (whew!) but we still have a lot of winter left, so please don’t neglect your winter medicine chest.

I don’t bother making resolutions, or rather, not at the New Year. I have sort of a running list going at all times–a list that’s much too long! But recently the idea of a New Year’s annual review was brought to my attention. I don’t especially like to plan, but I do like to review, so I might make this a habit. In particular, I like the idea of making a list of things that went well in the previous year, and a list of things that didn’t go so well. Not to make yourself feel bad about your “failures,” but instead to remind yourself of all the things you are grateful for, the things that are no longer relevant that can be released, and the things that you now know are important, and worth another try.

I also like the idea of having an annual theme. A yearly theme seems more realistic and flexible to me than resolutions. For me, 2014 was a year of Trial and Error, or of New Beginnings. I tried many new things and ideas on for size. Most of them I love, some of them I can’t even remember. I am hoping that 2015 will be a year of Simple Pleasures, where I jettison things and practices that are cluttering up my space and my time, and make more room for what remains.

Whatever your theme or resolution, I hope you have more joy this year than ever before!

Leave a Reply

