Worts & All holiday gift ideas

If you’re like me, you’ve given friends and family all sorts of herbal salves, tinctures, and tea blends and you never know if they used them. No matter how long you’ve been studying herbology people still look at you like you’re trying to bewitch them with some kind of dangerous witch doctory.

I have to keep reminding myself that not everyone is as into botanical medicine as I am. But I like making gifts, and I like making things with herbs, so I am going to continue giving herbal gifts. I just have to slip the herbs into things that are a little less threatening to my giftees. (Easier said than done since even soaps seem to be threatening when I make them.) I want to stretch myself a bit beyond the usual sugar/salt scrubs, lotion bars, and bath salts (not that there’s anything wrong with those and I would be happy to receive any). I’ve been scouring the internets for ideas, recipes, and products, so without further ado, here are a few of my favorites:

Kings Road Apothecary’s Conifer Special Surprise Box

Just look at some of what’s in here: Pinon resin and white fir whipped body butter, conifer forest bath bomb, redwood + douglas fir + turkey tail tea, and pinon resin and white fir whipped body butter…(plus more). The only problem is that I would have a really hard time not keeping this for myself.

It’s fitting that this comes first in the list because it was seeing Cauldrons & Crockpots holiday gift guide that reminded me that eek it’s December already and time to write the holiday gift post I’d been planning…

Learning Herbs’ Heart-Healthy olive tapenade

Ironically, homemade food products seem to be appreciated by my giftees, even though if I wanted to bewitch or poison them, this would be the way to do it. This particular recipe would make a great gift if you can the results, and then you could make them open it and try it right in front of you. Since you use ingredients which have already been brine-preserved (olives, capers) and are adding acid (lemon juice, tomatoes), I believe you could safely can this by the hot water bath method (also known as the cold pack method). Of course I am not responsible for your results if you choose to do so.

Herbed Nuts

Last year candied nuts were a huge hit at my family’s Christmas dinner gathering. Why not make a savory version with herbs? This recipe suggests rosemary and thyme, but you could also use sage, marjoram, and savory. Remember to soak and dry the nuts in advance to improve their digestibility and make them more crispy.

Hori Knife

Ok, it’s not made with herbs. Hori-hori is a Japanese onomatopoeia for the sound this knife makes digging through soil (it also means dig-dig). This is the single most useful gardening tool I have ever encountered–you can dig, scoop, cut through roots and stems, heck mine even has a measuring guide so you can measure how deeply you’ve dug. Also a great tool for wildcrafting. Also for stabbing anyone who tries to steal your veggies (because I’m not the only one who worries about that, right?).

These Botanical Perfumes

With names inspired by literature and some really unique blends, I love Arabesque Aromas’ perfumes. They range from green and mossy to spicy orientals to delicate florals.

Or These Botanical Perfumes

Made by Kiva Rose. I haven’t tried them yet but they all sound amazing.

Honey Pacifica Honeys

These are a step further removed from the plant, but most people I know enjoy honey. If you live in Southern California, Honey Pacifica is more or less local to you. Their raw unfiltered honeys are like candy in a jar. You could even infuse them with herbs or flowers.

Leave a Reply

