Cleaning with essential oils

There are many ways to incorporate essential oils into your homemade cleaning and health products. Now, most people think of aromatherapy or perfume when they think of essential oils, but in reality they are concentrated plant extracts. As such, they contain many of the properties of the whole plant (though not all). Of course it is true that most smell nice too.

I do almost all my cleaning with baking soda and vinegar. Since my dog has a sensitive system and my mom is chronically ill, I try to cut out synthetic chemicals wherever I can. Ok, maybe Windex isn’t going to give me cancer, but if I can get the job done with something I know is non-toxic, that doesn’t require me to open all the windows or risk getting a headache from the fumes, and that costs less–you can bet I’m going to use it.

essential oils

For me baking soda and vinegar fits the bill. I’ve heard some people say that they don’t clean as well as commercial surface cleansers. I don’t know what kind of messes they are trying to clean, but for me they work just as well.

Some people hate the smell of vinegar. I don’t mind the smell at all–especially compared to ammonia and such–but I still like to add essential oils because (1) they add their own cleansing properties and (2) they smell purty.

For general surfaces (kitchen, bathroom, hard floors, etc.), I like to use the following blend:

3/4 cup apple cider vinegar

3/4 cup distilled water

12 drops sage (common sage, not clary or blessed) essential oil

6 drops rosemary essential oil

6 drops lavender (I prefer English or “true” lavender) essential oil

I find the combined scent to be clean and green and not at all vinegary. It makes me feel calm and refreshed and gives me a sense of well-being. All three of these herbs are anti-microbial, and sage and rosemary help open the respiratory passages and ease breathing. These two herbs are known for lending mental clarity and wisdom, while lavender is relaxing and soothing.

It’s fun to experiment with your own blends, of course. Go try it! I guarantee it’ll smell better than Windex.

One thought on “Cleaning with essential oils

  1. Pingback: In praise of rosemary | Worts & All

Leave a Reply

